Abby Mae Parkinson

Is the first time you have had support from the Dave Rayner Fund?


What is your cycling history?

I started cycling as a second year Under 14, that's when I did my first national series race, I turned up and I didn't know anyone, the plan was that my dad would stand at the side of the loop we were racing around and he would tell me when to attack. I looked at him every lap waiting and then he indicated for me to go and I went... ended up winning off of the front solo as no one knew who I was so they didn't bother chasing me! I also rode for RST DS'ed by Chris Walker, Giordana Triton as a Junior when I won the National Championships on the road. I then moved to Italy last year riding for a UCI team Servetto Footon, it was a challenging year but I learnt a lot and got to race big races like the Giro which I finished 61st Overall and 13th U23. I later went on to going to the Europeans and World championship in Doha.

What team are you joining?

Drops Cycling Team

Tell us a bit about your team.

The Team started only last year by Bob Varney and Tom Varney as a UCI team aiming to be the most professional amateur team. "DROPS" is a printing company that launched in 2014, they supply bespoke cycling wallpaper and much more. It's a great team that really puts the riders and their interests first!

What is your race programme looking like?

I start of in Belgium, my first race is Het Neiwsblad in February and race there until Liège-Bastonge-Liège then I go back to Yorkshire for Tour of Yorkshire. I'm doing Tour of California and hopefully the Giro d'Italia in July. It's a great race program and I'm doing lots of races which I think is great for development!

What bike will you be riding and who supplies the team kit?

I will be racing on a Miami green Trek Madone and training on an Trek Emonda, my team kit is supplied by Sportful

Do you have any other interests outside of cycling?

It's hard being a professional cyclist to have much else going on when you are training hard you need to rest well, but I like to keep fit doing core. I love cooking up new recipes and I like my apartment to be really clean (which when you are living with a 23 year old boy can be a full time job!). I'm also really interested in fashion which is cool as I'm living in a crazy place of the world it's nice sometimes to just sit in a cafe and watch all the passers by, it's a really trendy place so it's good to pick up style tips!